Sunday, July 13, 2014

Remembering Tom Tierney, King of Paper Dolls



I am sad to share the news that legendary paper doll artist, Tom Tierney, passed away on Saturday, July 12, after a battle with cancer. Known as the "King of Paper Dolls," he was officially crowned during the 2011 Paper Doll Convention in Philadelphia. 

Our paper doll world has been shaped by Tom Tierney. When the paper doll industry was nearly extinct during the 1970s and into the 1980s, Tom nearly singlehandedly revitalized interest in paper dolls with the multitude of titles he created for Dover Publishing. Since that time he has produced hundreds and hundreds of paper dolls on subjects of all kinds for publishing companies, magazines, convention souvenirs and limited edition self published sets.

Because of Tom’s super-power work ethic, he not only leaves a legacy of paper dolls, but the history that goes along with it. Each of his books was meticulously researched, rendered and annotated with historic information. 

Representing OPDAG, Paperdoll Review and Paper Studio Press, I have been privileged to work with Tom for over two decades. We've had more lively phone conversations than I can count. Anyone who encountered Tom would be greeted with his bright smile and twinkling eye, and would then be regaled with stories of his extraordinary past which could include drawing posters for the war effort, cavorting with stars during his theater days, working as a fashion illustrator in New York City, or a sweet family story such as drawing characters for his nieces and nephews. My heart especially goes out to Tom’s niece, Kathy O’Tierney, who, with her husband Patrick, looked after Tom and helped with his business endeavors. After losing her husband last year, Kathy has been there to support Tom through his illness. Tom thought the world of Kathy and so appreciated her loving care.

Tom has enriched our paper doll community through his art, his knowledge and his charm. And his influence will continue to guide so many of us in our paper doll endeavors. Thank you, Tom Tierney, for sharing your life and talents with us.

Thursday, June 12, 2014

2015 Paper Doll Convention Plans are Underway!


Although the 2014 paper doll convention is still two weeks away, plans are well underway for the 2015 convention. I'll be co-hosting the event with David Wolfe, and we've chosen the charming, historic city of Chattanooga, Tennessee, for our location. We recently travelled to Chattanooga to finalize plans with the hotel and to arrange a tour of the charming downtown arts district.

So mark your calendar for June 17-21, 2015, for the 2015 National Paper Doll Convention! The location is the Embassy Suites Chattanooga/Hamilton Place Hotel. The newly built hotel is gorgeous with a modern, elegant design, upscale guest suites, generous conference facilities, and luxurious gathering areas for visiting with friends and sharing paper dolls. Hotel accommodations include a free, made-to-order breakfast and complimentary happy hour.

We will soon accept convention registrations through the Paperdoll Review website. In the meantime, click here for a printable convention flyer and registraion form. Register early to save $20!


Saturday, January 25, 2014

New Clothes for Queen Elizabeth II

Queen Elizabeth II has gone from dowdy to divine with a 12-page, glamorous new wardrobe in the latest issue of OPDAG's Paper Doll Studio Magazine. David Wolfe provided a paper doll figure of the Queen as a young lady, and 34 OPDAG artists created more than 70 new looks for her including everything from smart suits and sultry evening gowns to casual wear and fanciful costumes. This glorious 64-page issue is one of our biggest ever, filled with a wonderful array of queen-inspired paper dolls, royal articles, artist feature, 2013 Los Angeles convention report and much more. At just $8 for a single issue, it's a fabulous way to enjoy new paper dolls by artists of today. I hope you'll give it a try! A 4-issue subscription is just $28. Click over to OPDAG or Paperdoll Review to learn more.

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

New paper dolls coming this spring from Paper Studio Press!

We've got six new paper doll books in the works for Paper Studio Press, and what an array of subjects; from fashion to films to folk art!

Continuing his paper doll books that define fashion history, decade by decade, famed fashion illustrator Jim Howard highlights Couture of the 1920s. His elegant freestyle artwork captures one of the 20th century’s most turbulent times, fashion-wise. A decade when style was transformed from refined luxury to jazzy modernity.

Another fashion statement comes from David Wolfe who devotes his talent and expertise to one single year in Hollywood, 1939. And what a year it was! Gone with the Wind, The Wizard of Oz, The Women, Ninotchka and more great movies were released. David newest book, 1939: Hollywood’s Golden Year, features costumes from many of those classic films.

Hollywood is a subject popular among paper doll collectors and artists, and in her next book Sandra Vanderpool takes us to Egypt as seen through the lens of movie cameras over the years. Hollywood Goes to Egypt spotlights the visions of extravagant, exotic styles over the years from Theda Bara as a silent Cleopatra and Valentino as The Sheik to films of today.

Little Ladies of Fashion: Paper Dolls of the Victorian and Edwardian Eras is a very special book, lovingly rendered by artist/historian Norma Lu Meehan. This exquisite book illustrates gowns designed by historic costumerier, John Burbidge who brought them to life in miniature for a collection of dolls now on display at the Ventfort Hall Museum in Lenox, MA. Each outfit is shown in exacting detail, meticulously painted and annotated.

Mexico is a country rich in traditional culture, with colorful indigenous fashions specific to individual regions. Mexican Folk Costumes is the subject of Alina Kolluri's first book for Paper Studio Press. This charmingly executed, delightful book honors the diversity of style south of the border with 25 costumes representing different regions of Mexico.

Everybody’s favorite fabric, Denim, gets the spotlight in the latest book by legendary artist, Tom Tierney. This is more than a paper doll book of blue jeans, it traces the surprising history of denim from its inception in the French town of Nimes to the sailors of the 1500s, the first Levis and on through time to denim evening gowns of today.

Shown here are clothing examples from each book, and as we get a little further along in production we'll add the books to the Paperdoll Review and Paper Studio Press websites for pre-orders. The books will also be available from Amazon.com, with an early spring release date.

Thursday, January 17, 2013

A bridal party wardrobe by 48 designers!

I'm thrilled to announce the publication of the Dress a Bridal Party paper doll book. The most ambitious project sponsored by the Original Paper Doll Artists Guild, this extraordinary book contains 170 outfits created by 48 artists of today for the bride, groom, maid of honor and flower girl. The 80 pages of paper doll fashions include a multitude of wedding gowns, tuxedos, suits and pretty dresses. From traditional to imaginative, there are clothes representing history, foreign cultures, storybook fantasy, and even futuristic fashions for the wedding, parties and honeymoon.

A big thank you to all of the contributing artists: Anita Barbour, Larry Bassin, Ange Boursiquot, Joanne Braden, Joan Brill, JoAnn Brisko, Pat Capuccini, Victoria Christopherson, Barbara Duranczyk, Beatriz Espinosa, Yvonne Fullingim, Michél-Victor A. Gdanov, Betty Jo Goodson, Lorraine Goulden, Marilyn Henry, Patricia Hicks-Ruiz, Ralph Hodgdon, Margaret Hofknecht, Eileen Hoppe, Jim Howard, Karen Hunter, Judy M Johnson, Darlene Jones, Jayne Keller, Alina Kolluri, Bea Lawhorn, Lorna Logan, Kwei-lin Lum, Lillian Lumachi, Brenda Sneathen Mattox, Norma Lu Meehan, Beverly Micucci, Dorte Meiling Nielsen, Vickie Pair, Rose Mary Palmer, Carol Peters, Drusilla Pratt, Pat Scarbrough, Christine Scarlett, Paula Sink, Norman Snyder, Sunny Steinmetz, Becky Thorstad, Mady Van Criekinge, Mary Wergin, Charlotte Whatley and David Wolfe.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Dolly Dingle's Twin Cousins

Inspired by our feature on Twin paper dolls in Paperdoll Review Issue 54, here's a cute paper doll of Dolly Dingle's Twin Cousins by Grace Drayton [1877-1936]. The popular Dolly Dingle paper doll series appeared in the pages of Pictorial Review from 1913 to 1933. Over the years Dolly Dingle had many adventures, traveled the world and celebrated holidays. Along the way, we were introduced to many of Dolly Dingle's friends and relatives including her twin cousins Jock and Joan, which appeared in the February 1930 issue.

While the Dolly Dingle was one of the most popular magazine paper doll series, Grace Drayton might be better known as the creator of the Campbell Kids, those cherubic, rosy cheeked kids who promoted the Campbell Soup Company through ads, books, toys, kitchenware, ornaments and a whole host of other collectible merchandise.

Grace's sister, Margaret Hays, also illustrated paper dolls including Fairy Favorite Cut Out Dolls, Pretty Paper Dolls and Dainty Dollies.

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

2012 is a Big Year for Paper Studio Press!

As I've been working on our Ultra Spectacular Catalog No. 19, I was astonished to realize that 2012 has been the biggest year ever for Paper Studio Press with 18 new titles!

Due for release in November are: Nancy Drew and Her Friends Paper Dolls by Darlene Jones, Merrie Christmas Paper Dolls by David Wolfe and a reproduction of the 1941 Jeanette MacDonald paper doll book. This trio of new books joins the 2012 record-breaking roster of paper doll books including: Carol Channing, Loretta Young, Fun with Grandma, Couture of the '50s, Deco Days Coloring Book, Patti Page, Heavenly Blue Wedding, Couture of the '30s, Steampunk Paper Dolls and Storybook, Veronica Lake, Palette of Paper Dolls, Paper Pals and Mod Pop.

The books are created by leading artists such as Tom Tierney, Jim Howard, David Wolfe, Marilyn Henry, Norma-Lu Meehan, Bruce Patrick Jones, Kwei-lin Lum, Charlotte Whatley and L. Hoerner. It has been a joy and a privilege to work with each of these artists and I'm thankful they've entrusted their work to Paper Studio Press.

In this era of high-tech toys and electronic everything, it is a little surprising to find that a decidedly low-tech, slightly sentimental pastime is having a comeback in popularity. Paper Dolls are back, those charming little printed people with their wardrobes of paper clothes attached to them with tabs. Our Paper Studio Press books, $12-12.95 each plus S&H, are available from paperstudiopress.com, paperdollreview.com, amazon.com, and some titles at turnerclassicmovies.com